Tom speaks after ouster in Calabar

image

The Super Eagles of Nigeria are through to the final stage of the Brazil 2014 qualifiers as Emmanuel Emenike announced his return to Senior National team with a goal seconds before the half time whistle,  while Liverpool new boy, Victor Moses put the icing on the cake  when he doubled the lead via a well converted spot kick in the second 45  minutes of the game.  Nigeria will be waiting for the draws to know their next opponent.

Malawian Coach,  Tom Stainfiet believes his ward gave their best but it was not just good enough to triumph over the African Champions.

He says “we played a very good first half according to plans, the Flames played good organised, Nigeria had more ball possessions but my goal keeper didn’t let any shot in between the post in the first 45 minutes, it was 30 seconds after the 45 minutes the we concede the goal, we made the first mistake, my left wing could not come back, then in the second half we could not come back because we played against a very strong Super Eagle’s side, who got confidence after leading one zero and then we got a penalty” he said.

Tom also justified the red card giving to defender,  Limbikan Nzana in the 51 minutes of the engagement but he disagreed with Centre referee decision on the penalty that led to the second goal.

“The red card on the other hand, I would have given him a red card also I think it was a tackle any referee would have give him a second yellow card, I spoke to the player he said he touched the ball first,  if that’s correct,  it was not a yellow card, well if I’m the referee I would have given him a red card,” he stated.

On the Spot kick, Stainfiet explainec “first of all I have to see the game but let me say that I’m 90 percent sure that it’s not a penalty and I think most of you admitted with me very soft and I don’t think it’s really a penalty,  the player’s diving and nothing at all touched him,” he belived.

He concluded by wishing the Super Eagles good fortune as they forge ahead in their quest for 2014 world cup qualification ticket.

“I must admit we lost to a better side and I wish the Super Eagles all the best and hope that they qualify for the World Cup in 2014.” he enthused.

Leave a Reply

